Gmail Phishing!

This happened with me 5 minutes ago, as I just opened my GMail mailbox, I had a mail telling me about how my mailbox shall be terminated if I don’t visit the Verification website. Fortunately, I read the URL and it didn’t seem right.

 

This got me going, I copied the URL and visited the page on Flock (thats my browser), and here’s a snapshot on how well Flock detected it. Then I used the same URL on Internet Explorer 7, the phishing filter didn’t give any warning even when i tried a false sign in! So much for security, but the scary thing is the web page which is amazingly authentic.

 

The smart asses down there have made all links point to GMail pages except for the Sign In button! Have a look at the mail contents below:

Last Warning to Prevent the Termination of your Gmail Account by updating your Account Information Inbox

   
  Reply  
to me

show details

7:08 pm (2½ hours ago)

Dear Gmail Member,

During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification procedure, we have detected a slight error in your information.

This might be due to either of the following reasons:

1. A recent change in your personal information (i.e. change of address).

2. Submitting invalid information during the initial sign up process.

3. An inability to accurately verify your selected option of subscription due to an internal error within our processors.

Please update and verify your information by clicking the link below:

http://googleverification.110mb.com/verifymyaccount/

If your account information is not updated within 72 hours then your ability to use your Gmail account will become restricted.

Sincerely,

Google Mail Administrator

Please do not reply to this e-mail. If you have general questions regarding your account, please click Help in the upper right corner for the GMail comprehensive online help.

© 2007 Google Mail Corporation. All rights reserved

Here’s how both MS IE 7 and Flock behaved(or say didn’t)

Gmail Phising on Flock

IE_Gmail_Phisng

By the way, I did report the Phishing to Microsoft…

One thought on “Gmail Phishing!

  1. 1) Did u enter the username/pwd on the IE opened page ? .Hope u entered some dummy values.

    2) And the correct ppl to report this is the Gmail Team at Google. MS doesnt give a sh*t about the bugs in IE.

Leave a Reply

