It still doesn’t work!

Yup! While Windows XP runs like a breeze on my laptop, that still doesn’t justify the ol’ favorite BSOD problem on my machine. Heck! it still crashes and reboots!

I have yet again contacted Dell, and request for their alleged ‘help’

Oh God! When shall thou’ finish purging my sins in the fires of hell!

One thought on “It still doesn’t work!

  1. Ankur-

    I work at Dell headquarters, came across your blog, and wanted to see what I could do to help.

    If your system still crashes and reboots, but isn’t showing the BSOD, that’s probably because by default, Windows XP doesn’t show a BSOD on system failure… it just reboots. In order to change this setting:

    Right-click My Computer -> click Properties
    Click the Advanced tab
    In the ‘Startup and Recovery’ section, click the Settings button
    In the ‘System failure’ section, uncheck the box next to ‘Automatically restart’
    Restart the system

    Your system should then display a BSOD on system halt instead of just rebooting.

    With that in mind, it doesn’t sound to me like your troubles are software related at all. What BSOD were you getting in Vista? Perhaps I can be of some help.

    You can contact me at customer_advocate@dell.com, ‘ATTN: John’. I’d be happy to help you in any way I can.

    John
    Dell Customer Advocate

Leave a Reply

